A Puerto Rican Ramble – Day 3

just another gorgeous day in Puerto Rico!

Ahh…. our beach day. After our grueling yet extremely worth it day yesterday, it was definitely time for some much needed R&R. And thankfully, Mother Nature complied by giving us a gorgeous halcyon day with vivid blue skies scattered with fluffy clouds, a laser-hot sun for our sunbathers, and no rain in sight (as compared to yesterday when it was cloudy with scattered showers). It was definitely the picture perfect day for lounging around.

Our hotel La Concha has three pools and beach access, but I gravitated towards the infinity pool with a view of the ocean. It being September and therefore low season, it was actually pretty easy for all eight of us to get chairs right next to the pool together. I would definitely travel again during low season… I hate having to compete with people for good spots!

the infinity pool from above, facing the ocean to the north

view of empty chairs (i love) and the ocean beyond

instagram shot of the ocean from the pool

The beach sand was hot hot hot on my bare feet and therefore I much preferred the shady pool area. But it was undeniably beautiful and judging from all the people laying out on beach chairs the sun was feeling good. The waves here were definitely rougher than at Luquillo beach, but not dangerous. Still, they put up a red flag indicating swimming conditions were risky! So I wouldn’t recommend swimming out too far.

people enjoying the view of the ocean on a lovely day

After much lying about and splashing in the pool, we finally decided to make our way to Old San Juan for souvenir shopping and dinner. While in OSJ we noticed an abundance of stray cats – apparently cats are protected and fed by the National Park Service, which also neuters them too (which I think is a good idea to control the population!). There were cats everywhere… also on top of really tall buildings. Daredevil cats!

cat on a hot tin car… sorta.

a line of cats

Dinner was at Cafe Puerto Rico, and one of my favorite dinners of the trip. First of all the server was very friendly and informative, the food was great, and they had a bartender that looked like LL Cool J! What’s not to like?

LL mixing up some drinks

cazuela de jueyes – yummy crab casserole

another day another mofongo – this time made of yummy yucca!

Well one thing I didn’t like was the feeling I had mosquitoes biting me all night. And alas when I got back to the hotel I found a bunch on my legs and even my back! Good things with bad, my friends, good things with bad.

And speaking of good things, looking forwarding to the next (and last) day – ZIPLINING!

4 thoughts on “A Puerto Rican Ramble – Day 3

Leave a Reply

