Travel theme: Shadows

What’s there lurking in the shadows? None other than this week’s travel theme at Where’s my backpack! This was a tough one – I guess I tend to avoid shadows while focusing more on the light. Shadows can create a lot of drama in a picture though, and I had a lot of fun looking through other people’s interpretations. Here I have my collection of shady pictures!

IMG_4084
During graduate school I was lucky to have a lovely 2-bedroom townhouse with a great backyard. Often times in summertime deer would be grazing on the greenery just outside my window, and in fall I even had turkeys wandering by! I took a lot of photos of my backyard throughout the seasons – this photo is from a golden summer afternoon when the trees cast lacy shadows on the grass.

IMG_6074
A shadowy passage in Marie Antoinette’s estate in Versailles. Although the palace of Versailles is ultra-opulent and ornate, Marie Antoinette’s estate is supposed to be a bucolic return to nature and farming – but in a very luxurious and picture-perfect way! That means picturesque farmhouses, adorably thatched cottages, and oodles of gorgeous  blooms.

DSCF6091
Shadow boxing at Sunset Cliffs in San Diego. We were young and silly! Now we’re older and silly.

IMG_6756
At my parent’s home, the light shining through the lace curtains cast some beautiful shadows on the leaves of a normal houseplant.

Leave a Reply

