Weekly Photo Challenge: The Road Taken

I’ve been lucky to take many different roads in life, especially when traveling. One of my favorite trips was to Japan, a place that I would love to re-visit now that I’m older, have a better camera, somewhat more disposable income (no more living off of convenience store nigiri!), and have some kids to hopefully share the joy of traveling with.

One of the things I found most fascinating about Japan was the attention to detail. Something that might be considered rather mundane and pedestrian is suddenly elevated to art when you pay attention to it. Such as… manhole covers!

Tell me the truth now, do you normally pay attention to what you’re stepping on when you’re walking on the road? It amazed me that the cities would do something like decorative manhole covers, which seems like something that no one would even notice on a regular basis. I thought it was a random occurrence, but as I visited different cities throughout Japan it looked like each district in each city had their own representative cover. Pretty cool, I thought!

DSCF6492This cherry blossom (sakura) manhole cover was in Asakusa neighborhood of Tokyo. Notice also my shiny flats, which were at the HEIGHT of fashion back in the day, I swear.

DSCF7735Isn’t this pretty? This is from the Fukushima district of Osaka. I’m guessing it’s Osaka castle?

DSCF7833If you’ve ever been to Nara, you know that they’re famous for their deer!

DSCF8063Lastly, this cover is from Himeji, famous for the Himeji Castle. They say the white castle resembles a white heron in flight, so that theme is represented in the white birds on the cover. Pretty cool, eh?

5 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: The Road Taken

  1. Japan conjures up so many good images in my mind- zen, haiku, minimalism in art and lifestyle, architecture. I love all of it! For a good reason.
    Thanks for sharing such lovely pictures.

Leave a Reply

