Travel theme: Bark

Sometimes when I’m trying to teach my 2 year old daughter different vocabulary, I’m a little stumped on how to teach her homonyms – those words that sound/are spelled the same but have completely different meanings! Ugh! Isn’t that kind of confusing for non-native English speakers? It’s something that I take for granted so when I’m called on to explain weird English quirks I just throw up my hands – that’s just how it is!

Bark is one of those words – are we talking about trees or dogs here?! Ah, the English language and all its weird foibles.

dsc04068Here’s the sweetest little farm dog that came up to me as I was sitting, heavily pregnant, waiting for my husband to come back from a corn maze with my daughter. She kept me company and gave me the most adorable smiles and let me pet and cuddle her. She also had the most quaint name – Dora Mae!

dsc05644Perhaps this is actually the absence of bark? I love look of wood after it has been worn down by the elements, it has a wonderfully sculptural quality to it, doesn’t it?

dsc06702Here’s my friend’s dog Millie! She’s so patient, even when she has a bunch of little kids crawling all over her! Big dogs are my favorite!

dsc08559I love how the light strikes the bark of this tree and really highlights all the grooves and patterns that make each tree unique!

dsc08616This adorable dog Cream is always mistaken as a girl because of his innate cuteness! He can’t help it if he’s so damn good looking! And if we’re talking about barks, this one has a huge one!

dsc09927Lastly, I love how this fairy door seems to be inset into the bark of the tree somewhat naturally! Maybe it leads to a secret fairy world to discover? Love Trust and Pixie Dust! (sorry that’s a Tinker Bell references lol).



4 responses to “Travel theme: Bark”

  1. It’s those sound like but different meaning words that make English such a hard language to learn.

    1. Definitely! My husband is a non-native English speaker and I can’t even explain why English is so strange.

Leave a comment