Travel theme: Brown

As a color, brown seems to get a bad rep – it looks dirty, or boring, etc etc. But brown is great! It’s earthy, natural, and has a full spectrum of hues from light tan to deep chocolate-brown. And as chef Anne Burrell would say, “Brown food tastes good!” And I definitely agree there… browned meat is delicious and dark chocolate is absolutely luscious! Yum! So let’s go ahead and celebrate all things tasty that are brown:

Brown Food Tastes Good!

IMG_2023
Have you had grilled eel? Mostly served in Japanese restaurants, it’s called unagi in Japanese and is called mouthwateringly delicious by me. At Daikokuya in Los Angeles (famous for ramen, which we also did get), I had to have the unagi-don (grilled eel rice bowl) and I was so glad I did. Deliciously brown!

IMG_1037
Technically I suppose beer is more a golden color rather than brown.. but the bottles are certainly brown enough!

IMG_1868
The very best of brown foods coming together – brown meat and brown carbs! Love it! Chicken and waffles at The Breakfast Klub in Houston, with the as advertised one strawberry to top it.

IMG_5469
Now that we have more than 2 square feet of counter space, we’ve whipped out our slow cooker (received from our wedding registry three years ago!) and finally started using it to make pulled pork and other slow-cooked delicacies! This was our first try at pulled pork and the results were delicious!

nola-16
A cup of brown coffee is a welcome sight for any jet-lagged traveler who has a full day of sightseeing ahead of them!

IMG_3605
Chocolate mousse cake is one of my favorite desserts – along with chocolate pot de creme, tiramisu, chocolate lava cake, chocolate truffles…

IMG_2038
One of the tastiest briskets I’ve ever had was at Rudy’s Country Store in Texas – the moist brisket is amazing! Juicy, tender, flavorful – I’m drooling just in recollection of this delicious brown meat.

nola-69
I promise, underneath this thick blanket of powdered sugar these beignets are a lovely golden brown!

 

This post is in response to the weekly Travel Theme at Where’s my backpack?, check out Ailsa’s great pics!



5 responses to “Travel theme: Brown”

  1. This was a bad choice of mine to look at something so tempting and delicious before breakfast 🙂

    1. Hehe 😉 brown food is good for breakfast too!

  2. I love your pictures, but I am SO WITH YOU about Rudy’s BBQ in Texas. Makes me want to make a trip back to my old stomping grounds…

    1. It’s so delicious! I didn’t even know I’d been having only decent brisket until I tried Rudy’s. I love traveling and broadening my food horizons 😉

      1. Yup. And yes, the brisket was a revelation to me. 🙂

Leave a comment